Nintendo-Power

Daily Gaming news, videos, reviews, tips & guides. Let's share our love of BigN games!

How to delete your Twitter account while protecting your data

How to delete your Twitter account while protecting your data

In view of the latest Twitter messages, it may have occurred to you to leave the site. Leaving Twitter, however, is not as easy as leaving last, never going back.

This is because when we use large-scale databases like Twitter they collect about us. To ensure that Twitter does not continue to use your data after you log out, you must take appropriate steps to completely delete your account and all associated data when you log out.

In this guide, we will explain how to do it, especially how to carry your precious data. Follow the steps described here and you will finish Twitter. If you change your mind and decide that you can not leave the micro-blogging service, we will tell you how to cancel the process.

Step 1: Disable third party services

Unlike some other sites that allow you to delete your information immediately and close your account, Twitter requires a 30-day or 12-month shutdown window when you decide to delete your account. If a third-party application that you have linked to your Twitter account is linked to your Twitter account during this period, your account will be active again after 30 days or 12 months.

For this reason, the first step to take when deciding to delete your account is to unlink all third-party services linked to your account. Here is the procedure to follow:

  • Log in to your Twitter account;
  • If you are on a desktop browser, left click on the left side and then click on Settings and Privacy. If you are using the Twitter mobile app, click your profile picture in the top left, then click Settings and Privacy;
  • Once in your account, click or tap Security and Account Access, then Applications and Sessions and finally Linked Applications;
  • Twitter provides a list of all third-party applications and services associated with your account. You must select each one and then click Cancel Application Permissions.
See also  Fortnight, Skins That May Come This Season: Lots!

Once you do that, you’re ready to delete your account without worrying that a forgotten app you linked to years ago on your Twitter profile will accidentally ruin your exit attempt.

Step 2: Archive your data (optional)

When your deactivated Twitter account reaches the 30-day or 12-month limit (depending on your preference), all your data will be permanently deleted from the social networking servers. However, if you want to keep your data, Twitter offers a way to download an archive of everything associated with your account on its servers. To do this, you need to use the Twitter website. None of its mobile apps offer this option. The process is almost the same whether you are accessing the website through a desktop browser or a mobile browser.

Here are the steps in the process:

  • Open your desktop or mobile browser;
  • Go to Twitter.com and click More on the left;
  • Then click Settings and Privacy;
  • Once logged in, click on your account and then download your data archive;
  • At this point you may need to enter your password and then you can click on Request Archive.

Once you do this, you will receive a notification that the process may take up to 24 hours. Once the archive is ready, you will receive a push notification via your Twitter mobile app and email. Both of these notifications will have a link that automatically takes you to your settings page on the Twitter website. There you can download the prepared archive of your data as a .zip file. It contains an HTML file entitled Your Archives, and a data folder containing all the content you posted on Twitter.

You can go to this folder just like any other folder on your desktop or smartphone. In this folder you can play / view your media locally, assuming your current device supports your media type. When done, you will have your data with you and move on to the final step. If any of this data is valuable to you, we strongly recommend that you back it up locally or on the cloud storage service you prefer.

See also  Pokemon are coming from the Alola area!

Step 3: Delete your account

This process is slightly different depending on whether you are doing it on your computer or your phone, so we will describe each scene separately.

Deleting your account on your computer:

  • Sign in to Twitter.com on your desktop browser.
  • Click more on the left side.
  • Click Settings and Privacy and locate your account area.
  • In this section, click Deactivate your account. At this point, you are given two “reactivation” periods: 30 days or 12 months. It is important to choose carefully, because when this deadline expires, your account and all its data will be gone forever. If you think you can change your mind in the future, the 12 month option may be right for you. Or, if you want to retire soon, choose the 30 day option.
  • Once you have made your selection, click Disable.
  • You must confirm your decision one last time by entering your password and clicking Deactivate Account.

Deleting your mobile account:

  • Log in to your Twitter mobile app.
  • Tap your profile icon in the top left corner.
  • Tap Settings & Privacy from the pop-up menu.
  • In this menu, tap your account and then deactivate your account. You get the same two “reactivation” options. You have to make your choice.
  • Once you have made your selection, click Disable.
  • At this point, you need to confirm your decision by entering your password and deactivating the account one last time.

Once you have completed this procedure on your computer or mobile, wait for the reactivation period of your choice. After 30 days or 12 months, your account and all associated data will be permanently deleted. However, if you change your mind within the aforementioned deadline, read on to learn how to reactivate your Twitter account.

See also  After the Metroid Dread, MercurySteam signs up with Action-RPG with 505 games

Restart your Twitter account

As you might expect, Twitter makes it easy to re-enable archiving or deleting your Twitter account. Sign in to your account within 30 days or 12 months (depending on what you selected during deactivation). After logging in, you will receive a message asking if you want to reactivate your account. If you select yes, you will be immediately taken to the reset homepage.

Twitter may take a while to reset all of your account content, including followers, media, tweets, and past DMs, so do not panic if you miss anything when you return to your homepage.
Return to Twitter after deleting your account

One last comment. If you ever decide to come to Twitter after your 30 day or 12 month deadline, you will need to create a new account. If you want to reuse a username you already have, you need to make sure no one chooses it as your username in the meantime. If an account is deleted, anyone who registers can claim the username of that account as their own. If someone chooses your username while you are out, you must select a new name.

Note that this does not apply if you are in the process of reactivating. Twitter has set aside your username until the end of the reactivation period.

Source: ZDNet.com