Nintendo-Power

Daily Gaming news, videos, reviews, tips & guides. Let's share our love of BigN games!

Google Chrome: How a site deletes all the data you have

Google Chrome: How a site deletes all the data you have

Enforcing the right to forget personal data on the Internet is still difficult, but an important first step has been taken by Google Chrome. The latest update to the web browser, Chrome 97, erases not only cookies but also personal data that the site holds about you.

Most web browsers, including Chrome, already allow you to manage multiple points to clear specific data through the history section. In particular, you can delete browsing history associated with downloads, popular cookies, cached images and files, or passwords that have already been saved.

However, Google Chrome now goes further with tools that allow you to manually delete personal data that a site can access, depending on the site. For example, from April 1, 2021, this will be the case when you authorize a site to do so through a small window that appears asking whether or not you consent.

Simple procedure to follow

To access the new features of Google Chrome you must first check if you have the latest version of the browser. Normally, the latter will be configured to automatically update every time the application is reopened. If you still want to verify this point, go to “Settings” and then (below) select “About Chrome”. The browser will then check if you are up to date on the latest version (photo below) and recommend downloading it otherwise.

When the update is complete, go to the “Settings” area and go to the “Security and Privacy” tab. In this section, you will learn about the “Site Settings” section. Finally, a new line entitled “Show credentials and data used for different sites” will allow you to manage the sites that want to clear your data on a case-by-case basis.

chrome-2-tail640_61d6b0ebe3709.jpg

If you have not been accustomed to doing this type of manipulation for months, you may find that many gigabytes of data are set aside for this purpose, which protects your personal information and often frees up valuable storage in the process.

See also  No, you did not win a Tyson device on Instagram