No time now?
Even three months after the release of the MacOS Big Sur desktop operating system, installing an update can lead to even more dangerous errors in some situations and make the Mac unusable.
MacOS 11 Big Sur Officially released to all users in November 2020 after a long beta phase. Since then, Apple has released two updates with fixes and general improvements. However, as Mr. Blog, it does not seem to fix all the serious issues. MacInternal reports. If enough storage is not available during the update process, data may be lost.
MacOS 11 Big Shrink requires at least 35 gigabytes of free space
Mr. C. Macintosh (Via 9to5 Mac) Do not check the MacOS Big Summary installation program before starting the update to see if you have enough memory for the update process. Once the system update process has started, the Mac can no longer respond and the data may be permanently damaged. Although the update process appears to be running smoothly, the following message appears at the end of the installation: “An error occurred while preparing the software update.”
According to Apple, the first update to the Magos Big Shrink from Magos Sierra or later requires at least 35.5 gigabytes of available space – but not the 13 gigabytes of Magos Big Shrink installed. Upgrading from a previous version, Big Shrink requires up to 44.5 gigabytes of free space, Apple explains.
MacOS Big Sur – Versions 11.2 and 11.3 are also affected
Mr. According to McKinstosh, Apple does not yet seem to have discovered the bug Big Sur Versions 11.2 And this 11.3-Beta Still reproducible. It is said that anyone who has already installed Big Tunnel on their computer should have no problem with OTA updates for the latest version.
In the event of an error, the system can only be saved using a backup using a time machine. The entire hard drive must be removed and MacOS reinstalled. According to the blog post, the problem with the Mac with the D2 chip, which is protected by Apple hard disk encryption FileWald 2, is more complicated: in recovery mode, the correctly entered password is no longer accepted, and you do not have access to your own data.
If there is no current backup, the only way Second Mac, Which includes MacOS 10.13 or 10.14 installed – these versions only allow access to the trapped Mac target disk mode and hard disk. Again, this is not possible with newer MacOS versions.