30.06.2021 – 11:38
So far only in beta version
WhatsApp: New functionality allows photos to be viewed only once
WhatsApp Messenger users have a new function that allows them to view sent photos and videos only once.
WhatsApp recently promised new privacy functions to its users. A new feature is already available in the beta version of the app, allowing recipients to view only photos and videos that have been sent before deleting the content. Among other things, the portal “WABetaInfo” And “Coin’s Blog” Report on new activity.
The self-destruct method, referred to as “Once View” or “Once”, is therefore a beta version for Android 184.108.40.206 for users. According to reports, this functionality does not appear to every user. It is currently unknown when this feature will be available for all Android and iOS users.
“For extra privacy, the recipient will disappear from your photo or video chat after opening” explains the new functionality of the WhatsApp app, which can be seen in a screenshot posted on “Cache’s Blog” But it warns: “Nevertheless, screen shots can be made in advance.” This means that users should be aware that the other person may have saved an image before deleting it.
Privacy features previously announced
In mid-June, the company behind Messenger launched a multi-phase campaign in Germany and the UK to make users aware of how WhatsApp guarantees users’ privacy. WhatsApp has confirmed, among other things, to expand the functionality for missing messages introduced last summer.
“Avid writer. Subtly charming alcohol fanatic. Total twitter junkie. Coffee enthusiast. Proud gamer. Web aficionado. Music advocate. Zombie lover. Reader.”